RSS Feed

Getting Back To Basics

Looking back on my life, I’ve come to realize that my best years have ended in odd numbers.  Maybe a coincidence?  Not sure, but my best memories do not have a year with a number divisible by two.

So needless to say, I am looking forward to 2013 and all that it has to offer.

Nothing specific in my head, just retooling my life with things that bring me happiness.  And when happiness is felt in your heart, good things come.  I’ve already instituted some of this into my life, and have already seen the difference.  Cutting out people and things that did not bring any value to me has made all the difference in the world.  Now I am ready to carry all of that into 2013.

Getting back to care free and easy living!

Getting back to care free and easy living!

 

Immerse myself in Books: I used to be a veracious reader.  Didn’t matter the topic or genre; I would soak it up like a sponge.  I would go through books like Snookie would go through Self Tanner.  And I hardly read at all this past year.  My bookshelves are abound by paperbooks and hardcovers even though I already donated a lot of my collection.  But my goal is to read two books a month.

Watch the flowers grow: I have a Sandbox in my backyard.  When my mother was living with me, every spring we would pick out flowers to plant and painstakingly watch them grow throughout the summer.  After my mother left, TDWF and I took over the mantle.  With both, it would be our practice every night to go out and weed and water.  It felt so good to have the dirt under my hands and watch our hard work pay off.  This past spring I had too much on my mind, and did not plant.  Now the sandbox is overcome with weeds.  So my plan for spring is to get my hands dirty again, and watch nature take its course as I plant again.

There’s nothing better than friends: I’ve been lucky enough to have great friends.  We enjoy talking about art, politics, music, our lives, hopes and wishes for our future.  As of late, I’ve had to cancel my plans due to financial issues due to the Holiday, but we are already talking about our plans for the New Year.  We will reconnect in a New Year and in happy times.

Home is where the heart is: Home to me is family.  And this past year, I’ve been able to reconnect with my mother and we are in a very happy place.  And this will continue.  This is the most important relationship in my life, and it will flourish even more in 2013.

Write, Write, Write: My passion always has and always will be to write.  Whether it is my blog, poetry, the screenplay I finished, song lyrics…..nothing lets me express myself more than putting my thoughts to paper and let my emotions flow.  I am still in the process of coming up with ideas to retool my blog and am hoping to premier it in the New Year.  Taking on a different tone, and not be filled with my past relationship with the men who are out of my life.  This will be filled with positivity and taking notice of the inspiration in the world.

Food does the body good: Not being a Julia Child, or even a mediocre cook, I have discovered this year that I really enjoy doing this.  What was once a fear of mine, has not brought me peace and pleasure.  Looking for healthy recipes, picking out nice fresh produce and eating my concoctions without giving myself salmonella, has been a bright spot for me.  And I look forward to creating more “masterpieces” in the upcoming year.

Get the blood flowing: Exercise, at one time, used to be a big part of my life.  This time of year, a bit of the “lazies” have set in, and the last thing I feel like doing is working out.  But that will need to change, and I am the only one who can do that.  So I need to make this one of my Number One challenges.  It always eases the symptoms of my Multiple Sclerosis, and the endorphins just keep me on a natural high.

These are simple pleasures, but ones that simply make me happy.  They are not grand plans, high-profile or extremely sexy.  But ones just simply put a smile on my face.

About A Dog With Fleas

I have had a lot of life experiences the last year that I am hoping to share with the world. I may not have made the best decisions, but my life is fluid and I am learning everyday.

14 responses »

  1. looks like a good plan 2013 :-)

    Reply
  2. I may consider cut copy paste for myself. Sounds like a plan

    Reply
  3. Great list! Alot in common with mine… in fact just registered for a creative writing course for january. All the best to you in the odd year!

    Reply
  4. Good for you :) I think this is awesome :) I did a similar thing this year… decided upon some things I wanted in my life and did my best to make sure I got them… spiritual stuff mostly… but I definitely relate to the books and the writing :)

    Reply
    • Glad you were able to keep to most of them. It does help to keep you focused on what you want to accomplish in the upcomiing year. And book and writing are such a big part of my life. So those two are ones I definitely want to stick to! :)

      Reply
  5. this is awesome! Im gonna write my own resolutions too. Writing is definitely gonna be one of them!

    Jenn

    https://ohhhoney.wordpress.com/

    Reply
    • It does really help to put in on paper, at least for me. Keeps me in line! :) Good luck with your resolutions. Writing is a great one, and just read your blog about starting your Online Store!! That is another great one too.

      Reply
  6. Pingback: Happy New Year From Blog Pest Control | Pest Control and Bug Exterminator Blog

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 255 other followers

